When you own a motorcycle and move to Florida, it’s important to learn Florida’s state laws on motorcycle insurance requirements. The first thing you should do is establish your residence. Then update your motorcycle’s registration address or get a new registration. Here are further steps to take to ensure you comply with Florida motorcycle insurance requirements.
Florida’s Vehicle Registration Requirements
- Establish residence – To become a Florida resident, you’ll need to establish a home address. If you have a family with kids, make sure the kids are enrolled in a public school. You are also considered a Florida resident if accepted and started work in the state.
- Plates – New Florida residents must get new license plates upon registering the vehicle.
- Driver’s license – Your motorcycle license must be updated within 30 days of moving to Florida.
Florida’s Required Motorcycle Insurance
Most states have laws that require drivers to carry insurance. Motorcycles are insured differently than cars in Florida, as insurance is only required in certain situations. The state’s helmet law says you can ride a motorcycle without a helmet, but you must carry motorcycle insurance. Here are the state’s requirements for motorcycle owners:
- $10,000 bodily injury per person
- $20,000 bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 property damage
- $10,000 medical payments coverage
Motorcycle liability insurance pays for accidents you cause to others. You’ll need to look at coverage options if you want coverage to pay for accidents caused by uninsured motorists.
Other Policy Options
There are plenty of other motorcycle insurance policy options based on how frequently you ride, how far you travel, and if you carry passengers. Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance doesn’t apply to motorcycle riders or passengers in Florida. Be aware that lenders may require certain types of coverage. Here are some of the other insurance policies to consider:
- Collision insurance – This coverage reimburses you for damage to your motorcycle from an accident.
- Comprehensive insurance – Damage from non-accidents such as weather, theft, or vandalism is covered under this plan.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance – If your motorcycle is damaged due to the fault of another driver who lacks proper insurance, this coverage pays for repairs.
- Gap insurance – This loan payoff helps pay when the vehicle is totaled beyond repair.
License Endorsements and Helmet Requirements
The registration process includes obtaining a motorcycle endorsement for your Florida driver’s license. This endorsement verifies that you have completed training for riding a motorcycle. The state’s laws on helmets allow some people not to wear them. But it’s still a good idea to wear a helmet since it helps reduce the chances of head injuries.
All motorcycle riders under 21 years old in the state must wear a helmet, except for those riding in an enclosed cab. A rider can choose not to wear a helmet, but they must carry minimum coverage of $10,000 in medical benefits. The helmet must meet federal safety standards. The law does not apply to operators of motorbikes with a maximum speed of 30 mph.
Getting the Right Coverage
Since there are so many types of motorcycle insurance coverage, it’s best to talk with an insurance expert. Every motorcycle insurance plan needs to be customized for the individual based on how they ride their vehicle. If you rarely ride your bike, you don’t need as much coverage as someone who rides daily.
In 2020 over 550 motorcyclists died in Florida from crash injuries, while over 6,000 sustained injuries. Motorcyclists need to prioritize safety and insurance. Contact us at Locke Insurance Group today to find coverage that meets your personal needs.